Wasps’ team to play Leicester Tigers at the Ricoh Arena

Wasps’ team to play Leicester Tigers

11th March 2016

Wasps’ team to play Leicester Tigers at the Ricoh Arena

Wasps’ Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his squad to take on Leicester Tigers at the Ricoh Arena this Saturday, in the Aviva Premiership battle between 3rd and 4th, kick-off 1.45pm.

The back-line is unchanged from the side that faced Gloucester last Saturday. In the front row, there are starts for loosehead Simon McIntyre and hooker Ashley Johnson, while Jake Cooper-Woolley again packs down at tighthead.

James Cannon and Kearnan Myall again form the second row partnership, while Thomas Young has recovered from last weekend’s illness to take his place in the back row alongside Sam Jones and George Smith, who skippers the side.

Dai Young said: “Whenever and wherever you play Leicester Tigers, you know you will always be in for a tough game. This match has huge relevance when it comes to the Premiership table, but to be honest Wasps v Tigers games always have huge significance anyway. These two clubs go back a long way and now of course there’s an extra bit of spice with it being a new Midlands derby, so that adds to this fixture as well.

“The next two home games are massive - Leicester Tigers followed by Sale Sharks on back-to-back weekends at the Ricoh Arena. Seven points separate the three teams, with Sale having a game in hand, so these next two weeks will have a big bearing on overall standings this season.”

Supporter news:

Wasps will be showing the England v Wales RBS 6 Nations clash (4pm KO) in the Jaguar Hall Fan Village after Wasps v Tigers. Return coaches from the Ricoh Arena to Hillingdon, Maidenhead and High Wycombe will depart after the 6 Nations’ game.

Supporters are reminded that Wasps are also trialling the ‘Rugby Special Train Service’ from Coventry and Nuneaton Stations to the Ricoh Arena at this match. Any supporter who purchases a ‘Rugby Special’ train ticket will be entitled to one FREE hot or cold drink at any bar at the Ricoh Arena, by using their outbound ticket.

Wasps’ Team to play Leicester Tigers

15. Rob Miller

14. Christian Wade

13. Charles Piutau

12. Siale Piutau

11. Frank Halai

10. Jimmy Gopperth

9. Dan Robson

1. Simon McIntyre

2. Ashley Johnson

3. Jake Cooper-Woolley

4. James Cannon

5. Kearnan Myall

6. Thomas Young

7. George Smith ©

8. Sam Jones


16. Edd Shervington

17. Matt Mullan

18. Phil Swainston

19. Will Rowlands

20. Nathan Hughes

21. Jamie Stevenson

22. Alex Lozowski

23. Brendan Macken

Unavailable for selection through injury:

James Gaskell (foot), Alapati Leiua (knee), Andrea Masi (Achilles), Joe Simpson (ankle), Guy Thompson (toe)

Unavailable for selection – RBS 6 Nations:

Lorenzo Cittadini (Italy), Bradley Davies (Wales), Elliot Daly, James Haskell, Joe Launchbury (England)